Chia fun

 

Chia seeds

Chia seeds

Several months ago I stumbled upon the food blog “Tales of Expansion,” which I believe is the first time I heard mention of the chia seed as food. Yes, this is the very same seed that you mix with water and spread on ceramic figurines to make “hair” grow. But apparently they are a hot foodie item praised for high levels of omega-3 fatty acids and antioxidants.  I’ve seen bloggers mix them into oatmeal, make puddings out of them and sprinkle them into salads or yogurt. I found a bag of them at Whole Foods and decided to give it a try.

I used the above raw pudding recipe, which contains cashews, water, vanilla and almond extracts, agave nectar (my favorite sweetener, but that’s a post for another day) and chia seeds. I like the concept. It really does taste like a vanilla pudding, but the chia seeds turn into a thick gel when mixed with liquid. That’s their power, though. It’s a good source of fiber. I just couldn’t get over the texture and the overpowering smell of the almond extract. It was fun to experiment with them and I can definitely see sprinkling them over oats, but I’ll have to visit here for more recipes for my next excursion into cooking with chia seeds.

002

3 responses to “Chia fun

  1. Was it the ground cashews that made the unappealing texture? When I read the recipe, that was something that I could see turning the pudding into something undesirable. I was thinking you could substitute in coconut or soy/almond milk instead.

    Either way, it actually does look delicious!

    • I think it’s the chia seeds, which turn gelatinous. The cashew part was good, and I think is how you make your own nut milk, from what I’ve seen of other bloggers making their own almond milk.

  2. Pingback: Fish Oil for RA « The Doctors' Rheum

Leave a Reply

