Aching Knees?

[picapp src=”0295/ebf12727-476a-4e70-a07c-1dffab9332d3.jpg?adImageId=6650510&imageId=298916″ width=”234″ height=”347″ /]I walked a LOT today. First, I completed week 2 day 2 of the “Couch to 5K” program, which is designed to get you up to running 5K over about 2 months. I did this before, about 7 or 8 years ago, and then ran a few 5Ks. The running bug didn’t really stick, but I’ve decided to give it another try. After doing the 30 min run/walk session, I grabbed the dog and took her on a 40 minute walk. (She didn’t seem to like the erratic stops and starts when I tried to take her on a training run in week 1). Later in the day I went shopping. Slow walking around stores, but on my feet a couple hours, then my mom wanted to do some hilly neighborhood walking. Fast forward to now and I’m feeling a little tight in the legs. In addition, slap me on the hand I did not really stretch. Classic “do as I say, not as I do.” I see ibuprofen in the near future.

A common cause of knee pain in patellofemoral syndrome. This is a frequent cause of knee pain in younger people and may be due to overuse, underdevelopment of certain parts of the quadriceps (thigh) muscles, the way feet over or under pronate (turn too far in or out). I frequently refer patients to this handout from familydoctor.org. (Of course, this is after I’ve evaluated and diagnosed them. If you are reading this as a knee pain sufferer, make sure you see your doctor). I think it is has a good set of exercises with simple instructions. However, I often recommend physical therapy assessment and treatment as well. A recent article in BMJ discussed exercise in patellofemoral syndrome. Anyone interested in a summary can look here and the original article here.  So now I’m off to do some stretching.

Leave a Reply

