True Confessions

EPSON002

I love this pic. I took it years ago and it always makes me laugh. But now when I look at it, I think about it as a representation of my health goals, including eating less processed foods. Due to a busy schedule (meeting, patient care, meeting, presentation during lunch so I didn’t eat, rounds, appointment, office) I had to make a quick drive-thru pit stop somewhere and had McD’s fries for the first time in months! Tasty. Hot, crispy. Way too salty. A little GERD. Will be back again when the taste memory fades . . .

4 responses to “True Confessions

  1. I’ve just discovered your blog. There seem to be so few rheumatologists’ blogs, so it’s great to find another one. I look forward to reading more.

    I’m sure it’s my imagination, but every time I decide to throw dietary caution to the wind and give in to my McDonald’s craving, my joints feel much worse afterwards. Still, sometimes those fries seem worth it.

  2. Thanks, Helen. My guess is the salt intake from fast food could have something to do with bloating/swelling.

  3. You can request fries and burgers without salt. It ensures that you always get piping hot ones, because they have to make them specially for you.

  4. They always seem like they’re going to be so good…

    I’m amazed at my co-workers who walk into the office first thing in the morning with a bag of fast food breakfast and then later have another bag for lunch. It just can’t be good for you!

    I do love whenever Yahoo’s homepage has a “best & worst” fast food expose, which they seem to do fairly often. I don’t eat much fast food, which is good because those “worst” offenders are appalling!!

Leave a Reply

