Foodie Friday: Taking Jell-O out of the hospital!

Jell-O® is a standard “medical food.” You see it all the time on hospital trays, right? It is easy to digest, doesn’t require chewing and qualifies as a clear liquid you can eat during such fun times as colonoscopy prep day and pre-op. It is generally recommended not to eat red or purple gelatin in these situations to avoid confusion over bleeding vs red dye. There’s my brief medical part about gelatin. Now on to the foodie fun:

I was listening to a podcast of my favorite NPR food show, The Splendid Table (where a few weeks ago I recommended the show on pre-Hispanic cuisine – check it out if you missed it), and she interviewed The Jello Mold Mistress of Brooklyn! I really do not make enough Jell-O molds and perusing this blog has definitely given me lots of ideas, especially for some of the “spiked” molds. Check it out and share your own favorite recipes!

One response to “Foodie Friday: Taking Jell-O out of the hospital!

  1. That is a very cool site! I had to chuckle when I saw the lost creation she made, clever.

Leave a Reply

