Foodie Friday: HOT bananas

The mercury hit 100 in the outskirts of Boston this week, while my non-air conditioned house registered at 87. What better time to bake? Actually, heating up the oven didn’t really make much of a difference in the overall house temp. There were 4 bananas threatening to turn to mush and a bunch of beets from last week’s CSA that needed to be roasted. So, double duty oven use it was.

The recipe I followed is from an old (1992) Family Circle cookbook, pretty much the banana bread recipe I’ve used forever. I think it’s pretty standard; flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, eggs, butter, vanilla, mashed banana. And the special touch – chocolate chips. I’m all for experimenting with healthy substitutions but with the exception of using white whole wheat flour, this is old school baking. I doubled the recipe and have 2 loaves that must go to the office with me today, or I might just eat 2 loaves in 24 hours!

Other baking adventures:

Mini donuts

Pear Muffins

Cherrywinks

3 responses to “Foodie Friday: HOT bananas

  1. I know you like your recipe, but I HIGHLY recommend trying this one next time (from Shutterbean). It’s hands down one of the best things I’ve ever tasted. I used Bob’s GF flour mix (which obviously you don’t need to do but I can recommend as tasting delicious to any GF readers) and I used the yogurt instead of buttermilk.

    http://www.shutterbean.com/tessys-banana-bread/

  2. You are a brave woman, baking in these temperatures. We are having 100% temps. and I can’t imagine firing up the oven without A/C on. Funny, how quickly we become spoiled.

    Both recipes look delicious. I’ve printed out Jessica’s suggestion and will try it, but I’m going to wait until the temperatures drop a little. 😉

  3. that looks delicious 🙂 and the heat has not kept me from the stove, either!

    your comment got me 100% on my last post — i guess perhaps the ‘on call’ feeling never will wear off! for runs i’ve already resigned myself to the treadmill for when i’m on call. luckily, i don’t mind gym workouts!

Leave a Reply

