Fracture risk and PPIs

Last month, actually I think it was late May, the FDA came out with a revised safety statement indicating possible increased risk of fractures in patients taking certain antacid type medications called PPIs. With vacation and the information backlog that goes with it, I didn’t give this more than a passing glance. Interestingly enough, I haven’t had a single patient ask me about it. And I think the vast majority of patients I see, particularly those older than 50, take “stomach medicine” – or Proton Pump Inhibitors.  A nice discussion can be found over at KevinMD. I don’t like reinventing the wheel so I’ll just point you over there for more info.

Leave a Reply

