I’ll take my gin without raisins, please.

Did you read my recent post on use of cherries as a gout treatment? Let’s continue the theme of wacky food treatments with the good old “gin-soaked raisins” treatment. Just do an internet search and you’ll find many sites that discuss this. Apparently you’re supposed to soak golden raisins in good gin (one post debated good gin vs cheap gin, though I know some people who’d say any gin is good gin) and eat 9 a day. No one knows why this helps with arthritis pain. There are no scholarly articles. I could not find any discussion on the science behind it. I don’t think that 9 gin-soaked raisins a day is enough to give you much of an alcohol effect, but I guess that depends on how plumped up they get. I wonder what one’s blood alcohol level would be after eating these raisins. I’m not recommending this. I just wanted to see if I could find out a little more info regarding something patients continually ask me about. It’s right up there with the idea that putting a bar of soap under your sheets will help with night time leg cramps. I don’t really feel like commenting on that one. Have you used the gin raisins? Have patients asked you about it? What do you think?

9 responses to “I’ll take my gin without raisins, please.

  1. Gin? I thought is was supposed to be rum soaked raisins!
    No wonder it’s not working!

    Kidding! 😀
    That’s one of the first alternate remedies I heard. It sounds ridiculous, and I when people mention it, I ask them to explain exactly why they think that might help. That usually gets people to realize what a nutso idea it is.

  2. The People’s Pharmacy has covered both issues more thoroughly than any other site I’ve seen (www.peoplespharmacy.com).

    I tried the raisin/gin alternative of raisins/vinegar/honey for my young daughter. She didn’t like the taste, so it was a short-lived experiment. I thought they tasted pretty good, though!

    Soap in the bed – do not knock it until you have tried it! I tried it out of desperation for cramps and was pleasantly surprised to notice hubby did much less kicking and flopping about during the night. I didn’t tell him about the soap, but did ask if he had been sleeping better. He said yes, and thought it was due to the cooler weather. I waited a few days and didn’t use soap one night, and he was back to his old disturbing ways.

    I told him about the soap in the morning. He said, “Just keep putting it in then!” And I have every night since. Months go by with no restlessness and we sleep soundly all night; the first night he disturbs me, I switch to a new bar.

    When traveling, I was dreading sharing a bed with my teeth-grinding, kicking, cover-stealing daughter and decided to try the soap on her. Two good night’s sleep and I was convinced, then the third night I awoke to teeth-screeching and was disappointed it must have been a coincidence…..until I found the soap on the floor in the morning.

    We don’t care if this isn’t ‘real’. People pay a lot of money and take meds with a lot of side effects in order to get a good night’s sleep.

  3. The People’s Pharmacy has just revisited this subject and also received a long list of various comments that make an interesting read:

    http://www.peoplespharmacy.com/2010/09/16/reader-questions-raisin-remedy/

  4. The gin-soaked golden raisins only work if they are dried with sulfur. Sulfur is an anti-inflammatory, and this is why it helps. I’ve used dried sour cherries as well, since sour cherries have anti-inflammatory properties. It didn’t work, so I checked the package and found that they were dried without sulfur.

    It’s the sulfur!

  5. Lina Mastropeter

    The bible talks of reducing infection with figs boiled in milk. The Phoenicians had a similar one raisins in milk. It draws out poison it seems.
    GIn is made from Juniper berries, which are naturally anti inflammatory. The reaction between the gin and the raisins produces another anti inflammatory.
    Doctors dont like these things because there is no money to be made for them.

  6. I was totally sceptical about the Gin and Raisins because the information came to me from my mother, who’d heard on the radio, that not only were R&G good for arthritis (which I don’t have), but also for psoriasis (which I do). So totally sceptically we’ve been on them for about a month now and Oh My God.. the scaling is starting to recede. Too early to say ‘It’s a cure’ but early signs are good.

    In other research I was reading (brightsurf.com) it appears gut bacteria is a regulator for the immune system so I wonder if whatever is in R&G is a super food for the bacteria?

  7. Cassandra Helmig

    Gout can be minimized by avoiding foods that are very high in uric acid. As much as possible, avoid nuts. ‘;..:

    Thanks again http://foodsupplementdigest.com/milk-thistle-side-effects/

  8. Felica Heggan

    Gout is caused by too much uric acid in the blood. Most of the time, having too much uric acid is not harmful. Many people with high levels in their blood never get gout. But when uric acid levels in the blood are too high, the uric acid may form hard crystals in your joints. ;

    Please do view our own web blog
    <'http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/

Leave a Reply

