Foodie Friday: eat beets all day

Beets get a bad rap. So many years of only being available in the canned, pickled version really ruined them for a lot of people. I’d like to think the whole farmer’s market/local food thing we’ve got going on now has changed that for beets. My CSA had plentiful beets and I never tired of roasted beets in my salads.

Once I made a sweet potato smoothie. Recently left with a few roasted beets in the fridge, I wondered what a BEET SMOOTHIE would taste like. I think this smoothie contained 1/2-1 very ripe banana, plain Greek yogurt, 1/2 cup coconut milk and some frozen dark sweet cherries. And water.

It was actually delicious! No weird beet taste at all and it was the most beautiful brilliant red color. The photos with my very basic point and shoot just don’t do it justice. Because this is a quasi-medical blog I’m going to throw in a little TMI medical tidbit for you if you do plan on eating some beets – that beautful dark red color going IN also has to come OUT! Expect to see some evidence of this on the outflow side. (I know, I know, I’m sorry, but I’m a Doctor. I can talk about this stuff while I eat)! Enjoy . . .

P.S. Although I realize that this is going up on April Fool’s Day and some might consider the idea of a beet smoothie a joke, I assure you (with apologies to Seinfeld), this was REAL and it was FABULOUS!

2 responses to “Foodie Friday: eat beets all day

  1. I love beets! I’ve started roasting them on the weekend and throwing them into salads, pastas, eggs, etc. all week long. The golden ones are delicious too.

    The smoothie idea looks great – I haven’t tried that yet!

  2. They’re also pretty easy to grow, and come in all sorts of beautiful shades and variegations. But yes, the outflow can look scary if you’re not expecting it.

Leave a Reply

