Tag Archives: celiac

Foodie Friday: Gluten-Free in NYC

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”false” link=”term=nyc&iid=7394770″ src=”6/e/b/c/NYC_Skyline_and_0e67.jpg?adImageId=12700585&imageId=7394770″ width=”337″ height=”506″ /] A few weeks ago I spent a fun weekend meeting up with friends and family in NYC. One of my travel companions follows a gluten-free diet and had read about the many gluten-free (GF) offerings at Bar Breton. Before we talk about the food, let’s digress a bit and have a mini medical segment about celiac disease. From WebMD,

Celiac disease — also known as celiac sprue or gluten-sensitive enteropathy — is a digestive and autoimmune disorder that results in damage to the lining of the small intestine when foods with gluten are eaten. Glutens are a form of protein found in some grains. The damage to the intestine makes it hard for the body to absorb nutrients, especially fat, calcium, iron, and folate.

If you do have celiac disease, wheat allergy or other reason to not eat wheat or gluten, you are no doubt familiar with the many excellent GF blogs out there. I tend to refer to celiac chicks for their creative approach to recipes, products and restaurants. In fact, I think we found out about this restaurant on their site.

Now, back to the food! The entire group loved the atmosphere and the menu, which revolves around buckwheat galettes. I know what you’re thinking, “Wait, you just said if you’re following a GF diet you can’t eat wheat. And now you’re recommending BUCKWHEAT?” Actually, buckwheat is gluten-free! You just have to make sure it is pure buckwheat and not mixed with wheat flour. Other GF grains include teff (which is used to make injera bread, common in Ethiopian cuisine) and quinoa, which is really a seed rather than a grain, but you get the idea. At the restaurant, the 6 diners in our party all got various starters and entrees, and all plates were almost licked clean. We particularly loved ending the meal with the Nutella-filled galette. In addition, the restaurant has a selection of several hard ciders. We sampled an apple and a pear and liked both. Beer is not allowed in a GF diet, although more and more brewers are developing GF beers using grains like sorghum and buckwheat.

I’d recommend this restaurant for GF and non-GF diners alike. Just to be fair, I’ll tell you that this is was 100% my opinion, I didn’t discuss my blog or that I might review it and we paid for our meal in full.